Sorrowful, Yet Always Rejoicing

Many, if not all, of you know that the Lord has taken Bret and I through a hard and painful week. Even from the beginning of this journey, our Father has provided us with much comfort from His Word and His church, and I wanted to share these things in the hope that you too will be encouraged by His grace to us.

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and the GOD OF ALL COMFORT, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. (2 Corinthians 1:3-4)

In the past week, we received four emails reminding us from this verse that our God is the God of all comfort. This verse also reveals that this comfort that the Lord is giving to us is not for us alone, but also so that we maybe able to comfort others who are hurting. In caring for Bret and I, the Father is also caring for other parts of His church.

For this slight momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen, but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal. (2 Corinthians 4:17-18)

I have loved this verse  for a long time, and a member of our care group reminded us of it this week. The first part that has been encouraging to me is that Paul considered his extreme suffering to be slight and momentary!  If the Lord gave him grace to consider his imprisonment and persecution slight and momentary, surely that same Lord (who is with me) can enable to see and understand that this is not overwhelming, and not forever. Even better, this affliction is preparing “an eternal weight of glory”! What a good reason for me to seek to walk with the Lord in and through this, and to respond in a way that brings Him honor. Also, I am encouraged from this verse to fix my eyes on that which is unseen, my heavenly Father, for He is eternal and His good, wise purposes stand forever.

…as sorrowful, yet always rejoicing…(2 Corinthians 6:10a)

This very simply gives me the freedom to be sad. I am so thankful that Jesus wept, and the apostle Paul was sorrowful. I do not have to question whether sorrow is acceptable or not, because I am told in the Bible that it is okay. And, even in my sadness, I am reminded to rejoice in my Lord, and shown by Paul that it is entirely possible to have joy and sorrow. And, it seems that I have experienced that this week:  sadness, yet with confidence that God is still sovereign and still good, which brings me joy.

His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of Him who called us to His own glory and excellence… (2 Peter 1:3; the NIV says, “His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness…”)

In all my questions in trying to understand why, how, and for what, the Lord has used this verse to remind me that He has given me EVERYTHING I need for life and godliness. This statement must mean that if my Father has chosen not to give me something, or some information, I do not need it. I may think that I need it (I may even very deeply feel that I need it), but I do not! In His infinite wisdom and grace, my Creator knows my needs much better than I do. And He has given me ALL THINGS pertaining to life and godliness.

As you can see, the Sovereign Lord has really made this ‘valley a place of vision’ for me, and I am so thankful for His comfort, grace, and peace towards us. And I am blessed that He has provided this comfort and encouragement through Scripture. May He continue to grant us grace to be changed by His Word, so that we may interpret life through the truth and bring Him glory.

~Rachel

6 Responses to “Sorrowful, Yet Always Rejoicing”

  1. Katie F. Says:

    I love you Rachel! You are a blessing to me and I am praying for both of you!! Love, Katie

  2. Ched Says:

    I appreciate these thoughts.

  3. LD Says:

    My dearest Rachel, you’ve been on my heart all this week since Bethan called and told me the news. My heart hurts with you – when one part of the body suffers, all parts suffer. I have no idea why the Lord chooses to let us go through some of the things that we do, but I know that He’s faithful enough to carry us through it all. I love the words of the song “Held” by Natalie Grant. The chorus says “This is what it means to be held, how it feels when the sacred is torn from your life and you survive. This is what it is to be loved and to know that the promise was when everything fell we’d be held.” I love you so much – know that I’m here if you need anything, and I mean anything.

  4. Bret Rogers Says:

    Rachel, I gain so much in godliness from observing your trust in the Lord. Indeed, he is faithful, and he is wise. I love you.

  5. Jason Snider Says:

    Rachel, O how deep the love of God. He is actively keeping us. If not for these things, we would not be strengthened to “press on.” I am reminded of the active word of God which says, “Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery ordeal among you, which comes for your testing, as though some strange thing were happeing to you; but to the degree that you (Rachel) share in the sufferings of Christ, keep on rejoicing, [so that] also at the revelation of HIS GLORY you (Rachel) may rejoice with exultation” (1 Pet. 4:12-13).
    Petitions to the Great High Priest have been and are being made for you. Love you, the snider family

  6. Jana Roman Says:

    Well hello there! So Jamie sent me this link after she recieved the email from you. hopefully you remember me Bret. My last name used to be Boshart and we used to work at Deer Creek. I know you remember 🙂 Just being silly! So, I got married right after you guys did and something about your blog has really touched my heart and I’m going to share it with you guys.

    I experienced a miscarriage at the exact same time. It has been an emotional roller coaster and thanks Rachel for writing that Jesus wept. I almost forgot that and it really brought some insight to my sorrow. Bret you are totally right in that we have to trust his purpose and plan for our lives. Something thats hard to remember in time like what we both went through however a joyful reminder that He provides. I know that it was hard what you both went through especially you Rachel. What my husband and I have found that it has really brought us closer to each other as well as the Father. Things happen at specific times for a reason and God has really shown us that on this side. My husband deploys on Friday to Iraq and I can not imagine going through what I did without him by my side. I honestly feel that having a miscarriage is a way for God to take an unhealthy baby back into His arms. Not any easier because you wanted them in yours, but what a great place to be in the ultimate Creator’s arms.

    With all that said I want you both to know that I’m still praying for you. Just because you might be physically ending the pain, the sorrow is something that will be with you forever. I have faith God will bless you both with beautiful children when the time is right. Rachel, you are a strong woman. God doesn’t give you more than you can handle and He has great great plans for you. I dont think that I have met you, but I know that Bret ALWAYS talked abotu you. Stay strong and firm!! and know that you both are in my prayers every day and keep in touch. (sad that this had to be what brought us reunited) Hey God is awesome He does great things like that!

    Much Love and Blessings to you both,
    Jana Roman
    jwroman0701@charter.net
    (e-mail me when you get a chance)

Leave a Reply

