Rachel’s Homemaking Hint #1

Woman cooking

Making Rice in the Oven?

I know those of you who cook are thinking to yourselves, “Is she crazy?” and those of you who don’t cook are thinking, “What’s the big deal?”.

Well, I have issues with cooking rice on the stove and it inevitably boiling over and making a HUGE mess which then bakes onto the stove while the rice finishes cooking. So the chef at work shared with me his secret for making rice.

You put the normal 2:1 ratio of water to rice in an oven-safe dish (both metal and glass work). Then add about a tablespoon of oil and some salt & pepper, or whatever seasonings you want. Then you cover the whole pan tightly with foil and let bake at 350 for about 1/2 an hour. You can tell when its done by shaking the pan- if it still sloshes around, its not done.

I used this method last night to make rice, and it turned out excellent, much more fluffy and flavorful than rice cooked on the stove. Bret loved it, and I liked avoiding the mess!

3 Responses to “Rachel’s Homemaking Hint #1”

  1. Bekah Says:

    Thanks Rachel!

    I’m glad i’m not the only one! My rice always turns out crunchy yet sticky. Yuck.
    Thanks for the tip!

    My mom adds a can of cream of mushroom and chicken drumsticks.

    -Bekah

  2. laurenchristine Says:

    What a great tip from my favorite homemaker 🙂
    Love you,
    Lauren

  3. willlovesvanessa Says:

    hmm.

    It is true that the rice can make a mess- I will have to try this one..

Leave a Reply

