Glorifying God in Homemaking

Older women … are to teach what is good, and so train the young women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled, pure, working at home, kind, and submissive to their own husbands, so that the word of God may not be reviled” (Titus 2:3-5)

These verses are the basis of why homemaking is important to me. They are the foundation of why I would even bother to endeaver to be good at caring for my home, and why I care to share that with others.

Part of the list of things older, godly women are supposed to train younger women to do is to work at home! And this is SO THAT the Word of God will not be reviled! What an amazing responsibility! The purpose of having these attributes, and pursueing these attitudes is uplifting the Word of God. The way women care for their homes, together with the other attributes in that list, impact the standing of the Word of God and the God of that Word in the minds of the people around us. This raises many mundane tasks from the level of chores to the level of a joyful service to my Father.

Another part of this verse that exhorts me to care for our home well is that I am to love my husband and submit to him. Now, my husband is a neat freak, and he’s really, really busy! So I love him and serve him well when I do the work of caring for our home. And this love and service is obediance to the Scripture in Titus 2.

The last reason from this verse as to why I am actually posting these tips has to do with the older women training the younger women. We should desire to do all things well and skillfully if we do them for God’s glory. So, if sharing what I have been taught enables another women to work at home more effectively so that God’s Word is not reviled, then the teaching and training that is commanded between women is also being obeyed.

My hope is that these homemaking tips will spur me and other women on to seek better and more effective ways to be workers at home and submissive lovers of our husbands for the glory of God.

One Response to “Glorifying God in Homemaking”

  1. brsquared Says:

    So…I can tell your husband is an exegete, because you emphasized “SO THAT”. Only the meticulous can be excited about a normal two word phrase that precedes the purpose of what was written prior.

    Nonetheless, I’m glad the Word of God is so clear to tell us why he does things the way he does them. That is quite a gift from the Almighty!

    Brandon

Leave a Reply

