Sanctification through Gardening

Sprouts

I have been sprouting some plants to have a mini-garden in pots outside our back door. I have shoots of bell peppers, tomatoes, and rosemary, and this week I’ve been hardening them off. I put the seed tray outside before I left for work, but when I got home the tray was overturned on my front steps and all my plants were crushed! I was not happy about this; actually, I was furious at whoever knocked my plants over. While I was cleaning the mess up, and trying to salvage what I could, my Savior asked me why I was angry. How could I be so mad over some little seedlings? Especially since the Bible, in Ephesians 4:30-31 says, “And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice. Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.” The Lord reminded me that I have to continually and repeatedly set aside anger and replace it with forgiveness. This trading of anger for forgiveness is empowered by God’s forgiveness of me in Christ! Almighty God was right to be angry at me, but He chose to forgive me through the death of Christ in my place. May I learn from the Redeemer to be a forgiver because of His forgiveness towards me!

One Response to “Sanctification through Gardening”

  1. Rachel Says:

    What a timely message this was for me! I got so angry last night as I was reloading my flour cansiter and the bag broke, spilling flour all over the counter and my freshly swept and mopped floor. I was so mad as I was cleaning it up, but you know what wouldn’t leave my head? “Let all bitterness and wrath and anger… be put away from you… be kind, forgiving… as God forgave you” (my paraphrase in my head). I’m thankful the Lord had me read your blog yesterday so these verses would be fresh on my mind and let Him lead me to His peace, rather than my anger.

Leave a Reply

