Rest

Matthew 11:28-29~ “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yolk upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.”

This was our memory verse for this week, along with the rest of our church. The Lord used it to poignantly teach us about resting in Him. This time of the semester gets increasingly busy for Bret adding pressure and stress to his life, and decreasing the time that he and I can spend together. This, in turn, adds stress to my life. So this past week, we have been meditating and discussing what it means for a believer to REST in Christ. And indeed, we have been shown that part of what it means not worrying about these burdens, but allowing Christ to carry them and deal with them. It means trusting in His strength to accomplish Bret’s schoolwork and to give me patience and grace. It means coming to Him with burdens, leaving them, and taking up the light and easy yolk. It means learning humility and gentleness from our gently and lowly Lord. These verses have provided so much peace and release to me this week; Jesus has promised that if I come to Him, I will find rest for my soul.

Here is a wonderful song that also speaks of this truth:

Jesus, I am resting; resting
in the joy of what Thou art.
I am finding out the greatness
of Thy loving heart.
Thou hast bid me gaze upon Thee,
and Thy beauty fills my soul.
For by Thy transforming power,
Thou hast made me whole.

Jesus, I am resting; resting
In the joy of what Thou art.
I am finding out the greatness
Of Thy loving heart.

Oh, how great Thy loving kindness;
Vaster, broader than the sea.
Oh, how marvelous Thy goodness,
Lavished all on me.
Yes, I rest in Thee, Beloved,
Know what wealth of grace is Thine;
Know Thy certainty of promise,
And have made it mine.

Simply trusting Thee, Lord Jesus,
I behold Thee as Thou art.
And Thy love, so pure, so changeless,
Satisfies my heart.
Satisfies its deepest longings;
Meets supplies its ev’ry need;
Compasseth me ’round with blessings,
Thine is love indeed.

Ever lift Thy face upon me
As I work and wait for Thee
Resting ‘neath Thy smile, Lord Jesus
Earth’s dark shadows flee.
Brightness of my Father’s glory,
Sunshine of my Father’s face,
Keep me ever trusting, resting,
Fill me with Thy grace.

Leave a Reply

