Grace Abounds in the Completion of the 83rd Hour

Glory be to Jesus Christ, “who is the blessed and only Sovereign, the King of kings and Lord of lords, who alone possesses immortality and dwells in unapproachable light, whom no man has seen or can see. To him be honor and eternal dominion! Amen” (1Tim 6:15-16).

The Lord has poured out his grace on Rachel and I this semester. As I look back over the many trials we faced and tests we endured, I stand in awe of Jesus Christ. Curriculum is not just something that is given by the Academy. God gives us a curriculum in life and did so again this semester. If I had seen it all at once in January, I would have testified that it was impossible for Rachel and I to finish. However, the end of the Spring semester has arrived, and it was indeed finished; and not by our strength or wisdom or power, but only by the abundance that our sovereign King supplied.

I remember sitting on the front porch about two weeks ago, exhausted from several large exegetical papers, still with a one-hundred page project still to complete. Furthermore, the weight of the responsibility of being a nurturing husband to Rachel and a diligent provider for our home, while at the same time going some nights without much sleep was setting in. Rachel asked me what I was doing on the steps. All I could say was, “Thinking about how much I need Jesus.” Without him, Rachel and I could do nothing. He has been our supply all semester long.

So, I write tonight to praise him and thank him: O Sovereign Master, Jesus Christ, thank you for your strength. Thank you for interceding on our behalf, and for the prayers you inspired in your people for us. Thank you for comforting us in our trials, and for bearing our burdens so well. Thank you, My Lord, for helping us to sing when our hearts were dull, and for teaching us to trust you when our bodies failed. Thank you for such a wonderful and patient wife. Thank you, for accepting me, even when I failed to worship you in all things this semester. Thank you for your cross, your resurrection, and your reign. You are indeed the only Sovereign, to you be honor and dominion forever, Amen.

One Response to “Grace Abounds in the Completion of the 83rd Hour”

  1. Brandon Says:

    must be a sweet feeling…

    …although I’ll say the feeling of finally getting to start seminary is also sweet.

Leave a Reply

