The Lord’s Grace in Mom

Dad and Mom 

Last February, I wrote about how the Lord lavished his grace upon me in the life of my Dad. Mother’s Day has arrived this year, and I thought it would be a great opportunity to write of the riches of God’s grace given to me through the life of my Mom, Kellie Rogers. For twenty-five years now, the Lord has used her to raise me up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord, and here are a few things for which I would like to give thanks to the Lord.

#1 The Lord has been gracious to me in directing my mom to pray continually for me. Even while I was in her womb, she offered up requests on my behalf, that I might be devoted to the work of the Lord. Years later, I still receive phone calls, letters, and emails either telling me that she continues to pray for me daily, or asking how she could be praying for me. As her son, I can testify that prayer has been my mother’s first response in all situations, not a last resort. Her communion with her heavenly Father is how she communes in such an edifying manner with people. In the greatest situations, and in those which are difficult, my mother finds hope in dependence upon the Lord in prayer. She is what Paul calls “devoted to prayer” (Rom 12:12; 1Thess 4:2),” and because of this my dad, myself, my brothers, and hundreds (thousands?) others have experienced God’s grace. Thank you, Lord Jesus, for making my mom devoted to prayer.

#2 The Lord has been gracious to me by making my mom a lover of the Scriptures. For most people who know my mother, they do not have to be with her for very long before they observe her love for God’s word. For Mom, the word of the Lord is as honey upon her lips (Ps 119:103). It has supreme rule over her life and practice (2Tim 3:16). The Bible is “not just filled with passages to study for, but passages to live by” (a quotation from a letter she wrote me when I first arrived at Seminary). By making my mom a lover of his word, the Lord has taught me that it is in the Scriptures that God speaks authoritatively, Christ is revealed perfectly, and the Holy Spirit works powerfully. Thank you Lord for making my mom a lover of your word.

#3 The Lord has been gracious to me by giving my mom a heart which explodes in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs of praise (Eph 5:19). Our home always had music in the air. The majority of the time it was coming from my mother’s voice or her piano playing, that is, until her sons began to invest in large speakers, electric guitars, and a drumset. I have to admit, as would my Dad, Mom’s music was always much more pleasant. Without doubt, the reason why my Mom explodes in song is because she knows how great a savior Jesus Christ is. When she sings, she sings to him, for him, about him. Even though I am away from home now, I still receive messages from her on my answering machine in song about redemption in Christ. By doing so, my own heart is stirred to love the Lord. Thank you, Father, for giving my mother a heart that loves to sing your praises.

#4 The Lord has been gracious to me by making my mom a compassionate person. The three things written above are indeed excellent; but what causes them all to land on me even harder is that I have seen all of them occompanied with her tears. My mom prays with tears of joy and sorrow, reads with tears of gladness and perseverance, and sings with tears of hope and wonder. She cries for the lost who are blind to the glory of Christ, and so, would rather embrace their sin more than the salvation he offers. She weaps for the church when they fail to love or fall prey to false teachings. Her eyes well up with tears as she speaks about the beauty of her Lord, hoping that all nations will one day see it. As part of God’s elect, she has indeed put on a heart of compassion, because she knows the compassion the Lord has shown her (Col 3:12). I treasure my mom’s tears. They have taught me much about the compassion of my heavenly Father (Eph 4:32-5:2; Col 3:13). Thank you, Lord, for making my mom a compassionate person.

#5 The Lord has been gracious to me by giving me a mother who loves and ministers to my wife. What a blessing it is as a husband to have a godly mother who seeks to serve, edify, and equip her daughter in law. My mom is committed to fulfilling what the apostle Paul instructs the older women in the church to do: “Older women are to be reverent in their behavior, not malicious gossips nor enslaved to much wine, teaching what is good, so that they may encourage the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be sensible, pure, workers at home, kind, being subject to their own husbands, so that the word of God will not be dishonored” (Titus 1:3-5). I am glad that my mom is devoted to loving my wife and cultivating the affections of a godly home. Thank you, Lord, for giving me a mother who loves my wife.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom. I am thankful to God for you. May the days in front of you be fruitful for the kingdom of God. May the Lord who is able to strengthen you according to his gospel, receive glory because of these coming days in your life. I love you. Keep the faith.

2 Responses to “The Lord’s Grace in Mom”

  1. Brandon Says:

    You did a great job here. These are indeed things we can thank the Lord for concerning our mom.

  2. Brandon Says:

    As I read this post, I am overcome with the grace given me in giving me your Mom. She is, so very truly all of these things, and my heart and eyes well up in reading about God’s gracious gift to me and so many others. I am thankful for both my Mum and now my Mom! Praise the Lord, for filling our lives with God-glorifying relationships. -Bethan

Leave a Reply

