Jesus Reigns, the Saints Remain

“I have set the LORD always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken. Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices; my flesh also dwells secure. For you will not abandon my soul to Sheol, or let your holy one see corruption. You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore” (Psalm 16:8-11).

In terms of perseverance in the faith and waging war against this world, the devil, and my flesh, Thursday had to be one of the hardest battles I have ever fought since God saved me. This is also why this text was so sweet to me Friday morning. What an outpouring of grace there was as I meditated on this text.

Thursday, it felt as though I was fighting alone. Friday, the Lord showed me he fought for me as he stood at my right hand. Thursday, I thought I was surely overtaken at the core of my being. Friday, the Lord showed me that with him I shall not be shaken. Thursday, it seemed that nothing but failure and loss stood before me. Friday, the Lord testified that nothing but triumph and victory awaited me since my flesh dwelt securely. Thursday, joy had fled from me. Friday, the Lord graced me with joy from the endless wealth at his right hand. Thursday, I could not see through the death of darkness. Friday, the Lord made known to me the path of life. 

What is more, this Davidic Psalm bears witness to the Messiah, Jesus Christ, according to the Apostle’s words in Acts 13:30-39. The Lord did not allow his holy one, Jesus the Christ, to undergo decay. He did not abandon his soul to Sheol. Indeed, God raised him from the dead! Now he sits at the right hand of the Father, fighting for his church, interceding on behalf of the saints, and reigning for the salvation of his elect. O what pleasures we have in him! O what joy is in his presence! We shall not be shaken, for Christ is Lord! Let your heart be glad; your whole being rejoice! Amen.

2 Responses to “Jesus Reigns, the Saints Remain”

  1. Brandon Says:

    Amen. I’d love to chat with you about this on the ol’ telephone sometime. It seems you were really feeling the weight of gloom and the gospel overcame it. That’s something I can benefit from tremendously.

    Also, I love that in this Psalm it says “at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” And then we see Jesus say this in Matthew: “But I tell you, from now on you will see the Son of Man seated at the right hand of Power and coming on the clouds of heaven.” (26.64) The pleasures at God’s right hand are in Jesus. The Word of God is amazing in pointing us to stuff like that.

    thanks for sharing

  2. Ronjour Locke Says:

    Praise God for His victorious King! As John said, “Come, Lord Jesus!” Good insight too, Brandon. I never thought of that before. To think that fullness of joy can be sustained into eternity is so amazing to me. Think of the glory of Jesus, that he gives us the full measure of joy and sustains that for eternity. I admit that I have not come close to such joy, and that is because I have not come closer to the Joy-giver. I pray that I would commune with my Savior more deeply, so that I could taste more fully the joy that is eternal.

Leave a Reply

