The S-Word

Our pastor has been preaching through Ephesians since before Bret and I started attending Redeemer ten months ago. Last week and this week, he expounded to us Ephesians 5:22-24:

“Wives, submit to your own husbands, as to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife even as Christ is the head of the church, His body, and is Himself its Savior. Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit in everything to their husbands.”

Now, from this very politically incorrect passage of Scripture, the Lord used Pastor Tim to teach clearly and winsomely the beautiful, biblical meaning of submission. Week One covered the meaning of submission. Week Two was today’s sermon, which was very practical, and as Bret would say, “pastoral.” It was incredibly helpful to me in evaluating whether I am fulfilling God’s command to me to submit to my own husband. Here are some of the main points and questions for us, as wives, to ask ourselves in a manner that is not legalistic, but out of love for Christ and genuine desire to obey him.

Pastor Tim said that a submissive wife:

  • Makes home a safe place with her encouragement, comfort, and understanding (Prov 31:11-12, 21-22)
  • Is trustworthy and dependable (Prov 31:11-12)
  • Maintains a good attitude (Prov 31:25-26)
  • Discusses things in a loving, open, and honest way (Eph 4:25)
  • Is content
  • Is patient, forgiving, forbearing (Col 3:12)
  • Is industrious for the sake of her husband and family (Psalm 128:3)
  • Offers suggestions, advice, counsel, and correction with respect and love
  • Cultivates inner beauty (1 Pet 3:3-5)
  • Pursues God and His glory above all
  • Builds loyalty to her husband in her children
  • Is grateful and expresses thanks often
  • Shows confidence in her husband’s decisions

Wives, are you living this before your husband?

He followed this list with three categories of questions to help wives examine themselves and their obediance to this command:

  1. What thoughts spring into my mind when I think about my husband? Are they honoring of him?
  2. How do I speak to my husband? When we’re alone? In front of the children? In public? How do I speak about him?
  3. Do I show my husband respect by my actions? In the way I listen to him?

Then he challenged us to find ten specific ways to show respect to our husbands, and then discuss the ideas with them. I haven’t done this yet, but I’m going to, and I’m so thankful for the specific direction to help me foster and portray respect to my husband.

May the Almighty God raise us up as women who out of fear and delight in the Lord, obey Him by respecting and submitting to our husbands.

5 Responses to “The S-Word”

  1. Heather Says:

    Look at you! I’m so proud of you guys!!

    Heather

  2. Brandon Says:

    I think Bret needs to write one on husbands…to balance the conviction out here. Dang! Good word.

  3. Lauren Says:

    Wow! Way to go, Rachel. This definitely touched my heart. Love you, girl 🙂

  4. Dad Fort Says:

    Submission is so contrary to our human nature. This is a good word for all of us.

    Press on!!

  5. Kellie Rogers Says:

    Being submissive has never bothered me……… it is when I fail to be that hurts the most! 🙂 I must be on my way now to live it out! Thanks dear daughter-in-law!

Leave a Reply

